Skip to content ↓
Southfields Primary School

Southfields Primary School

EYFS Framework and Areas of Learning

All areas of the EYFS Framework are followed and planned for to ensure there is a broad, balanced and progressive learning environment and curriculum. The children will learn new skills, acquire new knowledge and demonstrate understanding through the seven areas of the EYFS curriculum as set out in the Dfe EYFS framework. 

The 7 areas of learning

Prime areas:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

Specific areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Knowledge the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design 

We use the Characteristics of Effective Learning from this to effectively build and develop skills and dispositions of effective learning.  They can be seen in our planning, observations and assessments. 

 We use a flexible topic based approach to pin learning outcomes to. We do however adapt these topics and steer learning based upon children’s interests. We begin each termly topic with an exciting hook day/activity to engage learners and ignite curiosity.  Each termly topic is enhanced through a variety of first-hand experiences (visits and visitors).  These give all of the children a shared experience through which to explore and develop language, knowledge and skills and to bring their learning alive. We finish each topic with an exciting ending to showcase our learning. We engage parents in our learning through a range of groups and events, sharing learning on Tapestry and providing home learning support and communication through Class Dojo. 

  • Healthy Schools
  • Ofsted Outstanding 2011|2012
  • Ofsted Outstanding 2008|2009
  • Logo
  • Leeds Inclusion Chartermark
  • Arts Council England
  • Financial Management Standard in Schools
  • Arts Mark
  • Music Mark
  • Oracy School
  • Elklan